Portrayal of Women in Fiction

Published August 21, 2012 by Linda Maye Adams, Soldier, Storyteller

As readers of Unleaded know, I’d like to see women portrayed better in fiction.  There are a lot of books available with women characters, but as Davonne Burns @brohne noted:

@LindaAdamsVA thanks ^^ I think my prob is, I don’t read anything with fem protags, tend to find them rather annoying.

Frankly, I agree.  I’m still cringing from a thriller I read when the female protagonist was being pursued by armed bad guys in a museum.  Male sidekick suggests hiding in the women’s restroom.  With bad guy looking for them, what inspiring thing does she do?  She screeches non-stop at him for being in the bathroom.  That book was was written by a woman.  Read the rest on Unleaded – Fuel for Writers.

5 comments on “Portrayal of Women in Fiction

    • I heard there was a workshop at GeekGirl Con done by a traditionally published male science fiction writer (sorry, I don’t remember the name) on what the guys get wrong. I thought it would be interesting to hear his perspective. Discussion by everyone helps change.

  • Leave a Reply

